Cocktail Recipe: Tequila-Cucumber Highball

june09-03

(photo by lafille)

While it’s fun fun fun to try all kinds of different cocktails at bars, when it comes to mixing at home, I tend not to vary a whole lot. This spring and summer, for example, has been mainly Dark and Stormys, Mint Juleps, and Margaritas.

Now I’ve got another refreshing libation to add to my summertime repertoire.

Thanks to Rhiannon at Cure, I’ve been introduced to the deliciosity of cucumber cocktails and now I can’t stop making my version of her version of Dale DeGroff’s Anejo Highball. DeGroff’s original didn’t contain cucumber, but Rhiannon adapted it to include some, and the thing I came up with in the kitchen today, while not exactly what she made me, is utterly delightful. If it didn’t contain a heady dose of Cuervo, I’d be drinking it constantly. As it is, I’ll try to limit it to cocktail hour.

Plus our garden is overrun with cucumbers and I’m delighted to find something to do with all of them!

Tequila-Cucumber Highball à lafille

2-3 inch hunk of cucumber, chopped
Juice from ½ a lime
½ oz. simple syrup
1 ½ oz. tequila
1 oz. soda water

Muddle cucumber, lime juice, and simple syrup in glass. Pack with ice, top with tequila and soda. Drink on the front porch.

Leave a Reply

