Recipe: Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Pineapple-Mint Salsa

may09-08

Pre-salsa

One of my favorite things about warm weather is cooking outside. Growing up, Cap’n Will instilled in me idea that grilling isn’t just for special occasions– it’s super easy and works for weeknight meals as well as Sunday cookouts. Thus, I recently got a small charcoal grill and have been using it to make dinner probably about twice a week.

The other night I wanted something fresh and summery, so I picked up a pork tenderloin and a pineapple with which to dress it. What a nice meal! The pork was super tender and juicy, and the pineapple salsa had just the right balance of sweet, tart, and hot. I will definitely make this concoction again, but next time I want to chop up the pork and put the whole shebang in a flour tortilla, maybe with some white cheese or sour cream…similar to the much-loved burrito al pastor at Juan’s Flying Burrito. Now THAT would be delicious. Actually, I have to go find a snack now because thinking about pork and pineapple tacos has made me ravenously hungry.

Ok, where was I? Right. Pork and pineapple salsa onde grill.

Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Pineapple-Mint Salsa

serves 2 with some leftovers

INGREDIENTS

1 medium-sized pork tenderloin

1/2 tbsp. vegetable oil

salt and freshly-ground black pepper

1 1/4 tsp. ground cumin

half a pineapple, peeled and chopped

1/4 of a medium-sized red onion, diced

1/2 to 1 green chile pepper, depending on your spice tolerance, minced

juice from half a lime

one sprig’s worth of mint leaves, chopped (about 1 1/2 tbsp.)

RECIPE

Note: My grill technique is very, shall we say, organic. I don’t really have any guidelines or hard-and-fast rules I go by– I just cook it ’til it’s done. So I apologize, but you’re on your own as far as grill tips go.

1. Stir together the oil, cumin, salt, and pepper, then rub it on your meat. That’s what she said. I let it sit for an hour or two, but you can season the pork right before you cook it as far as I’m concerned.

2. Stir together pineapple, onion, chile pepper, mint, and lime juice. I muddled it just a little also, to make it a bit juicier.

3. Cook the pork loin until it’s just barely pink in the middle, remove from heat and let it sit for 5 minutes or so. Slice and serve with the salsa on top.

3 Responses to “Recipe: Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Pineapple-Mint Salsa”

  1. […] it’s because we had a pineapple in the kitchen getting ready to go into this incredible recipe for pork tenderloin with pineapple mint salsa. […]

  2. Great post! Last year in Tahoe at the Fall Food and Wine Festival they did a segment on making salsa on the grill and it was delicious!

  3. I found your blog on Google. Ive bookmarked it and will watch out for your next blog post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

