Creole Creamery

I know I’ve been slow to document last week’s culinary adventures, but there is just so darn much to document!

For our afternoon snack on Gluttony Saturday, we ventured uptown to the Creole Creamery on Prytania Street. I brought maman here when she was in town, and Cap’n Will requested it on her recommendation. Needless to say, I was more than happy to oblige.

I think Angelo Brocato is still number one in Brother O’Mara’s heart, but I must say, I’m partial to this terrific ice cream shop. They have such a glorious selection and strike a great balance between the tried-and-true standards and the rotating array of more adventurous offerings. Case in point, last week I tasted both avocado and lavender-honey ice cream. My all-time favorite there (so far, at least) is the Mexican hot chocolate, a semisweet chocolate with cinnamon and hot pepper. It’s not too sweet, nor too rich, and the slow burn that builds from the chiles is deeee-lightful!

3432084149_01a502f04c

This is Brother O’Mara’s dulce de leche milkshake, which ended up being too rich for him to finish.

I have never seen that happen.

Also, check out their website. They keep it updated with a list of EVERY ice cream they’ve ever had. It’s fascinating!

(photo by Brother O’Mara)

4 Responses to “Creole Creamery”

  1. Captn Will Says:

    If I knew this was my last day on earth I’d spend it here (MarMar) with you of course

  2. I have a sick addiction to CC and am fortunately (or unfortunately, depending on how you look at it) within walking distance.

    If you like the mexican hot chocolate you’d probably also like caramel chicory chocolate. Maybe I shouldn’t mention this, but they also make amazing ice cream cakes.

  3. Beautiful pic! Haven’t tried them out yet but I hear the Clockwork Orange and Red Velvet cake flavors are smack yo’ mama good…

  4. I don’t know why I haven’t introduced myself before, seeing as how I’m another NOLA food blogger. Anyway, I just had to comment because that Mexican hot chocolate flavor sounds SO good. I skew more to La Divina Gelateria (and, recently, Sucré, since I had some coupons for free gelato; they’ve also started making their own gelato base in the past month, and their hazelnut sucré gelato is mind-blowing), but there is little in this world that I love more than their chocolate azteca gelato… sounds similar to yours.
    Anyway, glad to meet you! Perhaps I’ll see you around somewhere soon…
    -Rémy

Leave a Reply

