A Taste of the South: The Fried Twinkie

On Sunday, Brother O’Mara and I ventured to Ponchatoula for the Strawberry Festival. I didn’t plan very well, and embarked upon the journey with a belly full of delicious brunch from Martin Wine Cellar. Thus, I didn’t have room to taste too many homemade strawberry-based treats. I did, however, try something I’d never had before that I feel has become a staple here in The South: the fried Twinkie.

As a lifelong Southerner, if I can eat it, odds are I’ve had it fried. Somehow though, until now, this confection had been present in my life only as legend.

And to be honest, it wasn’t all it was cracked fried up to be.

It started off promisingly enough. The young lady at the booth should have been a professional carnival barker, as she demonstrated a proficiency in hawking her wares (“Fried Twinkies, Fried Snickers, They’re Delicious!” floated easily over the massive crowds). I couldn’t resist, and two minutes later I had my very own made-to-order fried Twinkie, completely doused in powdered sugar. It looked truly scrumptious. I took my first bite. But wait!! Where was the creme filling? Arguably, the draw of the Twinkie is that creme-filled center, am I right? Well, it seems that dunking it in boiling lard heats up said creme so much that it evenly infuses the entire spongy cake, leaving the middle bereft of luscious goodness. Granted, it makes for a super-moist cake, but really, what’s a Twinkie with no goo? I ate the whole thing, but will admit to a mild disappointment.

I’m glad I experienced this treat, for it no longer holds the allure it once did. Oh fried Twinkie, your siren song no longer sways me. Like the brave Odysseus who went before I have experienced your delights and lived to tell the tale.

Now a fried Snickers…there’s something I could get behind.

2 Responses to “A Taste of the South: The Fried Twinkie”

  1. Mary O. Fox Says:

    No creme-filled center….NO WAY!!!! What’s the use?

  2. Yeah, I was also disappointed when I first tried the fried twinkie at the Cookeville FunFest, but I’ve never been a huge twinkie fan. I’ve never had a fried snickers, but I enjoy the fried Oreos about once every 5 years.

Leave a Reply

