Recipe: Roasted Pork Chops with Homemade Barbecue Sauce

The other day at work the most intense craving struck me. I’m not sure from whence it came, but all of the sudden I could think of nothing but my mother’s barbecued chicken. Determined to satisfy this desire, I hurried up to the grocery after work to pick up all the accoutrements.

The great thing about my mom’s barbecue sauce recipe (aside from its high level of deliciosity) is that it’s super simple and concocted from ingredients I almost always have around the house. Thus I really only had to purchase the meat and side items.

Brother O’Mara isn’t the world’s biggest chicken fan–he feels it doesn’t excite his tastebuds enough to warrant actively preparing it. Personally, I like to think of it as a blank canvas to adorn with whatever flavors I want, but I had no problem picking up a couple of good pork chops for this meal instead. I was actually very pleased with the way they turned out–I slow-roasted them at a low heat while continuously basting them with the sauce. The resulting entree was moist, tender, and very flavorful.

For a side dish, Brother O’Mara sauteed some zucchini, onion, and yellow squash, which we served over a bed of couscous.

All the flavors in this meal went incredibly well together and really hit the spot for both of us. It felt like a standard lafille famille weeknight dinner from my childhood. I guess I needed some comfort food!

Barbecue Sauce à ma mere

Serves 2

INGREDIENTS

ketchup

yellow mustard

brown sugar

purple onion

The thing about this recipe, is that I just add all of the ingredients bit by bit until I’m satisfied with how it tastes. Very roughly, I’d say it works out to something like this:

3 parts ketchup, 1 part mustard, 1-2 parts brown sugar, 1 part onion

Whisk it all together and there you have it!

Now for the pork chops:

RECIPE

1. Preheat oven to 275 degrees. Season two 1-inch thick center-cut porkchops with salt and pepper and place in a small roasting pan. (I use mon pere’s special seasoning salt blend, but I don’t know what’s in it and suspect that even if I was privy to that intelligence, it would be with the caveat that I couldn’t blab it all over the internets.)

2. Brush liberally with the sauce and throw those suckas in the oven. Baste with remaining sauce every 15 minutes or so, and cook for 40-50 minutes, or until your digital meat thermometer (you do use a digital thermometer, right? Right?) reads 155 or thereabouts.

Viola! Super simple barbecued pork!

Leave a Reply

