Local Love

I tell you what.

Should I ever decide to become a full-on locavore, I couldn’t find a better city in which to do it. Every time I go to the Rouses (apparently not a possessive noun, btw), I discover a new local brand of something I buy on a regular basis. I love it!

Off the top of my head, here are some local brands I’ve already found useful/delicious:

Brown’s Dairy milk

Blue Runner beans

Blue Plate mayonnaise

Leidenheimer’s poboy bread

Zapp’s potato chips

Hubig’s pies

Abita beer

Community Coffee

Tony Chachere’s seasonings

Zatarain’s

Randazzo’s king cakes

I suppose I shouldn’t be surprised to find so many local brands in a city with so much civic pride, but it’s still fresh and exciting for me!

4 Responses to “Local Love”

  1. Man, I wouldn’t list Randazzo’s king cakes by themselves. If it’s ever discovered that you’ve done so you’ll risk being in the middle of the Randazzo’s / Mackenzie’s / Haydel’s / Gambino’s / Maurice’s / Antoine’s / etc. “WHICH KING CAKE IS BEST ZOMG” debacle.

  2. la fille Says:

    Dude, it’s the only one I’ve had! I’m sure they’re all pretty princesses.

  3. Hey, I’m not claiming that it’s better or worse, just that a lot of locals would love one more opportunity to jump on the king cake comparison wagon.

    Solution: let’s buy one of each and eat them all in one day.

  4. good lord, i lurve and hate you for setting up this site! it makes me so happy to get the chance to see/read your foodie experience, but dang! i’m going to have to brave the humidity so i can share in the deliciousness.

    and i want a report on the king cake day.

Leave a Reply

